DAISY Award for Extraordinary Nurses

The DAISY Award for Extraordinary Nurses recognizes the special work that nurses do every day to go above and beyond for their patients. It was established by the DAISY Foundation – which stands for diseases attacking the immune system – in memory of J. Patrick Barnes who died from an auto-immune disease known as Idiopathic Thrombocytopenic Purpura.

Midland Memorial Hospital presents one special nurse each month with the DAISY Award. All award recipients are recognized at the annual awards presentation in May. The award recipient and the nominating person, provided enough contact information is given, will be notified of the award presentations.

If you would like to nominate a nurse for the DAISY Award, please complete this online nomination form.

2016 DAISY Award Recipients            

Alison Tompkins, MSN, RN
Same Day Surgery


Armando Rivera, BSN, RN
Emergency Department

Jessica Herrera, RN 


Jinx Stokes, LVN, IBCLC, RLC
Women's and Children's

Justin Aguilar, RN
Critical Care Unit

Kimberly Simmons, RN
Interventional Radiology 

Kristen Nall, BSN, RN
Acute Care of the Elderly (ACE) Unit

Lagaytha Lewallen, BSN, RN, CWOCN
Wound Ostomy 

Sophia McEwan, BSN, RN
Labor and Delivery

Wilson Nyamwatta, BSN, RN
Oncology Unit

2015 DAISY Award Recipients

Aimee Marshall, RN 
Critical Care Unit

Candace Voake, RN 
Critical Care Unit

Estela Villafranco, RN
Emergency Department

Kaitlin Grouse, BSN, RN
Post Surgical Unit

Kathryn Nkwopara, RN
Oncology Unit

Lagaytha Lewallen, BSN, RN, CWOCN
Wound Ostomy 

Lindsey Jones, RN

Lynda Sanchez, MSN, RN-BC, CVRN
Cardiac Rehab

Missy Lopez, RN
Pediatric Unit

Nellie Monarrez, RN
Critical Care Unit

Scott Turner, RN, ADN 
Critical Care Unit

If you have questions about the DAISY Award, please contact:
Leah Weatherford
(432) 221-2054