Community Garden

Midland Health Community Garden Now Open

The Midland Health Community Garden opened on August 13, 2016. The garden is approximately 13,000 sq. ft. and features 34 individual plots, 2 keyhole gardens and 3 wheelchair-accessible raised planters. The garden is located on the Northeast corner of the Midland Memorial West Campus at 4214 Andrews Highway.

For information about becoming a sponsor or other ways you can get involved, please email midlandhealthgarden@gmail.com or call (432) 221-1185.

 

How To Apply for a Garden Plot

Individual garden plots measuring 5' x 13' will be available to rent for $32 per year or $16 per half-year. To be assigned a garden plot for the Fall/Winter 2017 season, your application and check must be received no later than July 31, 2017. 

A completed application includes all of the following:

  • Signed Gardener Application
  • Copy of your Texas driver's license or Texas ID card
  • Copy of current utility bill with Midland address and/or lease agreement
  • Check for $16.00 made payable to: Midland Memorial Foundation

Submit application and check by mail:

ATTN: Danielle Johnson

Midland Memorial Hospital

400 Rosalind Redfern Grover Parkway

Midland, Texas 79701

 

Resources (click to view/download)

Bylaws

Gardener Application for Fall/Winter 2017

Memorandum of Understanding

2017 Schedule of Garden Work Days and Events

Site Rules

 

For Garden Members - Upcoming Classes & Events

Garden Work Days:

Garden work days are a time when members gather in a group to do basic garden maintenance. Plot holders are required to attend at least 8 garden work days per year or 4 work days per half-year.

**Work days occur on the second Saturday of each month, with the exception of February and August due to event conflicts.

Saturday, January 14 10:30 a.m. to 12 p.m. at the garden

Saturday, February 18**  10:30 a.m. to 12 p.m. at the garden

Saturday, March 11  10:30 a.m. to 12 p.m. at the garden

Saturday, April 8  10:30 a.m. to 12 p.m. at the garden

Saturday, May 13  10:30 a.m. to 12 p.m. at the garden

Saturday, June 10  10:30 a.m. to 12 p.m. at the garden

Saturday, July 8  10:30 a.m. to 12 p.m. at the garden

Saturday, Aug. 19**  10:30 a.m. to 12 p.m. at the garden

Saturday, Sept. 9  10:30 a.m. to 12 p.m. at the garden

Saturday, Oct. 14  10:30 a.m. to 12 p.m. at the garden

Saturday, Nov. 11  10:30 a.m. to 12 p.m. at the garden

Saturday, Dec. 9  10:30 a.m. to 12 p.m. at the garden

 

Qualifying Master Gardeners Classes:

These free classes are held by the Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Office and the Permian Basin Master Gardeners. To register for any of the classes below, please call (432) 498-4071. Each plot holder is required to attend at least 2 gardening classes, of their choice, per year.

Great Tomato Roundup (*Fulfills Gardening Education requirement--counts as 2 classes)

Saturday, February 11 9 a.m. to 3 p.m. AgriLife Ext. Office, 2445 East Hwy. 80


Desert Composting: Putting Your Garbage to Work

Tuesday, February 21 6 p.m. to 9 p.m. Odessa Food Bank, 411 S. Pagewood Ave.

Wednesday, February 22 9 a.m. to 12 p.m. Odessa Food Bank, 411 S. Pagewood Ave.


Mighty Microgreens

Tuesday, May 16 6 p.m. to 9 p.m. Odessa Food Bank, 411 S. Pagewood Ave.

Wednesday, May 17 9 a.m. to 12 p.m. Odessa Food Bank, 411 S. Pagewood Ave.